Congressional Hunger Center Hosts Annual Awards Ceremony

May 20, 2016

Victoria O’Reilly, Director of Development, Congressional Hunger Center

Nearly 300 guests representing government and policy circles, the corporate and philanthropic sectors, and the national and international hunger communities will join CHC alumni, Board and staff to celebrate the Congressional Hunger Center‘s 2016 Awards Ceremony, June 15th.


Congressional Hunger Center’s alumni awardees Indivar Dutta-Gupta and Michael Johnson (courtesy: CHC)

This year’s distinguished hunger fighters are Senators Pat Roberts and Debbie Stabenow; Representatives Gwen Moore and Jackie Walorski; Chef, Restaurateur, and Social Entrepreneur José Andrés; Michael Johnson, alumnus of CHC’s Mickey Leland International Hunger Fellowship and Indivar Dutta-Gupta, alumnus of CHC’s Bill Emerson National Hunger Fellowship.

The event also will spotlight the work of Emerson Fellows and our partner organizations in Chicago, IL; Denver, CO: Detroit, MI; Jackson, MS; Pittsburgh, PA; Portland, OR; Tucson, AZ; and Seattle, WA.

The alumni awardees exemplify the accomplishments and ongoing commitment to ending hunger of fellowship participants.

Johnson, who was in the first Class of Leland Fellows (2001-2003), now is a Political Affairs Officer, with the UN in Mali. Earlier, he served as the Planning and Program Development Specialist at the Secretariat of the South Sudan Recovery Fund, administered by the UNDP.

Dutta-Gupta now directs the Project on Deep Poverty at the Georgetown Center on Poverty and Inequality. Earlier, he served as Senior Policy Advisor at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities.